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IN-SERVICE TRAINING GUIDELINES 
FOR KANSAS LAW ENFORCEMENT 

 
 
 

I. IN-SERVICE TRAINING 
 

In-service training is that training required by law of certified Kansas police or law 
enforcement officers. Kansas law requires each certified, full-time, employed officer 
to receive 40 hours of such training annually. 

 
 
 
 

II. THE ON-GOING TRAINING REQUIREMENT 
 

Each certified Kansas officer must, beginning the second year after receiving 
certification, and to retain his or her certification, satisfy an in-service training 
requirement. After satisfactory completion of a basic law enforcement training  
course for full-time law enforcement or police officers (officers employed by a state, 
county, or city who work at least 1,000 hours annually) a Kansas officer must receive 
40 hours of law enforcement training. K.S.A. 74-5607a (b) states: 

 
“Beginning the second year after certification, every full-time police officer or 
law enforcement officer shall complete annually 40 hours of law enforcement 
education or training in subjects relating directly to law enforcement. Failure 
to complete such training shall be grounds for suspension from work without 
pay until such training is completed. The director with the approval of the 
commission shall adopt rules and regulations regarding such education or 
training. Such education or training may include procedures for law 
enforcement to follow when responding to an allegation of stalking. Every 
city, county and state agency shall annually send to the director certified 
reports of the completion of such education or training. The director shall 
maintain a record of the reports in the central registry.” 
 

 
 

III. THE STATUTORY MANDATE 
 

A. THE ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING REQUIREMENT 
 

Again, beginning the second full Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center Fiscal 
Year after certification, full-time police officers or law enforcement officers shall 
comply with the annual in-service training requirements. K.S.A. 74-5607a(b). 

 
Question: What does “the second full year after certification” mean? 
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Answer: The Central Registry operates on a fiscal year basis. In other words, 
the “training year” for in-service training compliance 
purposes runs from July 1 through June 30. 

 
EXAMPLE: Officer A graduates from KLETC on May 1, 1996. To 
determine in which year his in-service requirement is triggered, 
remember to use the fiscal year. So, the first full fiscal year after May 
1, 1996, runs from July 1, 1996, through June 30, 1997; the second 
full year starts on July 1, 1997. It is in that second full year that the in- 
service obligation begins. Accordingly, Officer A must complete 40 
hours of in-service training between July 1, 1997, and June 30, 1998, 
and each year thereafter. 

 
Question: Who must comply with this law? 

 
Answer: All Certified full-time Kansas officers. This includes full-time 

officers who fit into any of these categories: 
 

• “Grandfathered” Officers. Those who received permanent 
appointments as full-time police officers or law enforcement 
officers prior to July 1, 1969. 

 
• Kansas Academy Graduates. Officers who graduated from a 

basic course of instruction offered at the Kansas Law 
Enforcement Training Center, or a certified state or local law 
enforcement training school. 

 
• “Reciprocity Certified” Officers. Officers who received their 

initial certification from another state and who have been 
granted reciprocity certification by the Director of Police 
Training pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5608a. 

 

 
• Railroad Officers. Officers employed by railroads in Kansas 

who do not qualify for the federal certification exemption. 
 

Question: Who has the responsibility to see that an officer receives the required 
40 hours of in-service training? 

 
Answer: K.S.A. 74-5607a(b) imposes upon THE INDIVIDUAL OFFICER 

the obligation to receive the training. In other words, it is 
ultimately up to the officer to ensure that he/she receives the 
required training. 

 
However, K.S.A. 74-5617(g) requires the officer’s agency to 
provide the opportunity to receive training; in other words, the 
agency must take reasonable steps to allow its officers the 
opportunity to obtain the required number of training hours. 
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B. EXTENSIONS, WAIVERS, AND MODIFICATIONS OF THE 
REQUIREMENT 

 

In certain cases, the Executive Director of the Kansas Commission on Peace 
Officers’ Standards and Training (KS-CPOST) may modify, extend, or waive an 
annual in-service training requirement. K.S.A. 74-5607a(d) states: 

 
“…The Commission…may extend, waive or modify the annual 
continuing education requirement, when it is shown that the failure to 
comply with the [mandated in-service training requirement] was not 
due to the intentional avoidance of the law…” 

 
Requests for modifications, extensions, or waivers of the in-service training 
requirement shall be considered on a case-by-case basis; such requests must be 
directed, in writing, to the Director. 

 
1. Extensions 

 
Requests for extensions of the time period in which to satisfy the in-service 
training requirement must be submitted to the Director using KSCPOST form 
CR323, Extension/Modification/Waiver Request; the request must be signed 
by the agency head or appointing authority, and shall set forth the grounds 
upon which the request is based. 
 
Generally, the extent of an in-service delinquency determines the length of any 
extension the Director may grant. Extension lengths shall run from the last day 
of the training year (June 30th) and will, in the absence of extenuating or 
special circumstances, be as follows: 
 

Hours Delinquent Extension Length 

1-4 60 days 
5-10 75 days 
11-20 90 days 
21-30 120 days 
31-40 160 days 

 

2. Modifications 
 

Generally speaking, modifications of the annual in-service training 
requirement are appropriate only when an officer, previously-certified in 
Kansas, has left Kansas law enforcement service but then returns to work as a 
Kansas officer. Requests for modifications must be submitted to the Director 
on agency letterhead; the request must be signed by the agency head or 
appointing authority, and shall set forth the grounds upon which the request is 
based. 

 
For example, Officer A is a certified Kansas law enforcement officer. He 
leaves service as an officer and is employed outside the law enforcement area. 
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However, he later is re-employed as a Kansas officer during another training 
(KLETC Fiscal) year. The extent of his in-service training obligation for that 
year must be determined. Generally speaking, these guidelines control that 
determination: 

 
• An officer previously certified in Kansas, hired during the period of 

July 1 through December 31, and has a full 40-hour in-service 
training obligation. 

 
• An officer previously certified in Kansas, hired during the period 

January 1 through March 31, has a twenty (20) hour in-service 
training obligation. 

 
• An officer previously certified in Kansas, hired during the period 

April 1 through June 30, has no in-service training obligation. 
 

• Cases involving officers who terminate employment but then return 
to employment as officers during the same fiscal year, or cases 
involving officers who change employment status (i.e., from full to 
part-time) during the same fiscal year, will be reviewed on a case- 
by-case basis. 

 
3. Waivers 

 

The Commission may waive, in whole or part, an officer’s in-service training 
obligation when, due to circumstances that do not demonstrate intentional 
avoidance of the law, the officer was unable to satisfy the obligation. For 
example, extended medical leaves, or other situations necessitating extended 
absences from work, may prevent an officer from obtaining in-service training. 
In such cases, the Director may, upon proper application, grant a whole or 
partial waiver of the in-service training requirement. 

 
Requests for waivers must be forwarded to the Director and must specify the 
grounds upon which the request is made. The request must be made on agency 
letterhead, must be signed by the agency head or appointing authority, and 
must be accompanied by supporting documentation. Supporting 
documentation must set forth the dates of the officer’s absence from work, and 
it must be shown that the in-service obligation would, unless waived, be 
unduly burdensome for the officer/agency. 
 

4. Commission's Discretion 
 

The Director may depart from the general guidelines described in this 
document when, in the exercise of his discretion, he finds that extenuating or 
special circumstances so dictate. 
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IV. TRAINING GUIDELINES 
 

Compliance with these guidelines should ensure that training will meet all 
requirements for ultimate approval and crediting to all officers’ Central Registry 
training records. 

 
A. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 

 

To be considered for application toward satisfaction of an officer’s in-service 
training requirement, all courses of instruction must meet certain minimum 
requirements. They must, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5607a(b): 

 
• RELATE DIRECTLY TO A LAW ENFORCEMENT TOPIC 

 
And they also must 

 

• BE APPROVED IN ADVANCE BY THE AGENCY HEAD OR 
THE AGENCY HEAD’S DESIGNEE. 

 
1. Training Sources 

 

Training submitted to satisfy the annual in-service training requirement may be 
obtained from a variety of sources, as long as the training meets all requirements 
set forth herein. Sources may include, but are not necessarily limited to, agency 
training; training received from an accredited institution of higher learning, such 
as a university or community college; workshops; seminars; specialized schools; 
and certain video/satellite-based training materials. In-service credit may also be 
earned by teaching/instructing law enforcement courses, or by delivering law 
enforcement training as an approved Field Training Officer (FTO). Requirements 
for each of these sources are listed in this document. 

 
a. University/college/community college credits 

 

University, college, or community college credits earned may be applied 
toward satisfaction of the annual in-service requirement if: 

 
• They are earned during the applicable training year; 

 
• They are earned in subjects related directly to law enforcement; 

 

 
 

• They are earned from an accredited institution; and, 
 

• They are earned with the agency head’s approval. 
 

Such credits will be counted as 15 hours of training per semester credit hour 
earned. For example, an officer who receives credit for a three credit hour 
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course in Juvenile Delinquency should be credited with 45 in-service hours. 
Obviously, such credit would entirely satisfy the officer’s in-service training 
requirement for that year. 

 
b. Agency training 

 

Kansas law enforcement agencies may offer and develop in-service training 
programs for their own officers and may also make those programs available 
to officers from other agencies. Such programs may be developed by any 
person approved by the agency head. Completion of such training may be 
applied toward satisfaction of the annual in-service requirements if: 

 
• The course relates directly to a law enforcement topic; 

 
• The course is approved in advance by the agency head or the 

agency head’s designee; and, 
 

• Instructors of the course conducted solely as departmental in- 
service training are approved and recognized by the agency 
head as being qualified to instruct the subject matter. 

 
Note: Special rules apply to in-service firearms training. See Paragraph 
IV.A.1.e, below. 

 
c. Workshops, seminars, and out-of-state training 

 

Training received by officers in workshops and seminars that are not delivered 
by their agencies, and from direct attendance at out-of-state classes, seminars, 
and workshops, may be applied toward satisfaction of annual in-service 
requirements if: 

 
• The course relates directly to a law enforcement topic; and 

 
• The course is approved in advance by the agency head or the 

agency head’s designee 
 

Upon request, agency heads shall provide proper documentation that such 
training is job related, required, and/or useful to the department. 

 
 

d. Instructor credit 
 

Officers may earn in-service training credit by teaching other officers. Such 
teaching or instructing may be applied toward satisfaction of the annual in- 
service training requirement if: 
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• The officer is recognized and approved, in advance, as being 
qualified to instruct the subject matter by the provider of the 
training; 

 
• The course taught relates directly to a law enforcement topic; 

and, 
 

• The course is taught, in a classroom environment, to at least one 
other officer; courses of “self-instruction” are not acceptable for 
in-service training credit. 

 
1. Law enforcement officer audience requirement 

 

Instructor credit shall be granted only in those instances where officers 
teach other officers, or other officers are included in the instructor’s 
audience. Instruction delivered to non-law enforcement audiences will not 
be applied toward satisfaction of the annual in-service training 
requirement. For example, a class taught by an officer to a public school 
class does not qualify as instructor credit for in-service training purposes. 

 
2. Instructor credit limit 

 

Only twenty (20) hours of instructor credit may be used to satisfy the 
annual in-service training requirement. In other words, an officer who 
instructs other officers for 20 hours must also obtain 20 hours as a student. 

 
e. Firearms training 

 

Any agency conducting firearms training programs shall meet certain 
minimum requirements. 

 
1. Instructor qualifications 

 

Any individual instructing a firearms training program must be a certified 
police firearms instructor or an individual recognized by the agency head as 
being qualified to instruct such a program. 

 
2. Course Content 

 

A qualification course, or in-service firearms training program, must be 
approved by the agency head. 

 
3. Course of fire & qualification standards 

 

Courses of fire and qualification standards shall be approved by the agency 
head and should be designed to reflect competency in the use of police 
firearms. 
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4. Instructor presence 
 

At least one firearms instructor who meets the requirements of Paragraph 
IV.A.1.e.1. above must be present during firearms qualifications. 

 
5. Firearms training credit limit 

 

Only sixteen (16) hours of requalification time may be used to satisfy 
the annual in-service training requirement. 

 
6. Annual qualification 

 

Every officer who is required, or allowed, to carry a firearm by an 
agency must qualify at least once per training year with that weapon. 

 
f. Field training officers 

 

There are two types of new officer evaluation systems in widespread use in 
the United States.  These programs are the Field Training Officer (FTO) 
model (sometimes also called FTEP for Field Training and Evaluation 
Program), and the Police Training Officer (PTO) model.  The end result of 
determining the suitability for permanent employment is the same.  Both 
programs are recognized by KS-CPOST.  For the purposes of this document 
FTO refers to both FTO and PTO programs. 

 

Training delivered by an officer in his/her capacity as an approved Field 
Training Officer (FTO) may be applied toward satisfaction of the FTO’s 
annual in-service training requirement if that delivery meets certain minimum 
requirements. 

 
1. Minimum FTO training requirements 

 

To receive in-service training credit for the delivery of training as an FTO, 
the FTO must, prior to delivering training in the capacity of an FTO, have 
successfully completed a formal training program for field training officers 
of at least sixteen (16) hours which has been approved by the agency head. 

 
2. Minimum program requirements 

 

To receive in-service training credit for the delivery of training as an FTO, 
the FTO must deliver the training in a program meeting these minimum 
requirements: 

 
• Formalized lesson plans outline all phases of the program; 

 
• The program must be a minimum of twelve (12) weeks in 

length; 
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• The program must provide for at least weekly written 
evaluations of the trainee by the FTO; a minimum of twelve 
(12) evaluations must be completed; and, 

 
• The FTO must have at least twenty (20) contact hours with 

his/her trainee. 

3. Program manual approval 
 

No FTO may receive in-service training credit for delivering training as an 
FTO unless, prior to the delivery of that training, the agency head has 
submitted a copy of the agency’s field training officer manual to the 
Executive Director of the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards 
and Training.  The manual shall include a list of all field training officers 
who meet the FTO training requirement set forth in Paragraph IV.A.1.f.1. 
above.  

 
4. FTO Training Credit Limit 

 

Only twenty (20) hours of delivery of training as a Field Training 
Officer may be used to satisfy the annual in-service training 
requirement. 

 

5. The officer being evaluated by the program may not receive in-service 
hours for participation in the program. 

 
g. Travel time 

 

Time spent traveling to, or from, training sites and programs does not 
qualify as training and will not be applied toward satisfaction of the 
annual in-service training requirement. 

 
h. Video/computer/multi-media/online e-Learning/satellite-based training 

 

Advancing educational and training technologies have made new training 
sources available to Kansas agencies. These sources include video tape; multi- 
media resources such as computer-driven compact discs (CD-ROM); and 
training delivered by satellite transmission, such as LETN, or compressed 
video such as Telenet 2 and online e-Learning classes. Receipt of training via 
these mediums may be applied toward satisfaction of the annual in-service 
training requirement if that training meets certain minimum standards and 
requirements. 

 
HOWEVER, ONLY TWENTY (20) HOURS OF THIS TRAINING, IN THE 
AGGREGATE, MAY BE APPLIED TOWARD PARTIAL SATISFACTION 
OF THE ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING REQUIREMENT. In other 
words, officers cannot receive 40 hours credit if they attend 20 hours of 
video- tape training and 20 hours of tested online e-Learning training; 
rather, they will receive only 20 hours. 



12  

 
1. Video training 

 

Time spent viewing law enforcement-related video training, such as direct 
video tape or film viewing; computer-based compact disc (CD-ROM) 
viewing; laser disc viewing; or watching video training sessions broadcast 
via satellite, or delivered by compressed video or desktop video-
conferencing may be applied toward partial satisfaction of the annual in- 
service training requirement if: 

 
• The agency head, or their designee, approves such training in 

advance and the training is directly related to law enforcement; 
 

• Viewing of the video, film or disc occurs in a classroom setting; 
and 

 
• A training coordinator or other department official is present to 

facilitate discussion or answer questions. A training coordinator 
need not be present if a post-viewing objective-based 
examination covering the instructional material is administered 
to the student by the agency head and/or their designee, or 
administered via computer, and the student has no access to the 
examination or the computer system to affect, alter, or destroy 
the examination questions or examination results; 

 
• The student achieves a minimum passing score of 70% or above 

on a post-viewing examination, scored by the agency head, their 
designee, or the computer. A passing score of 70% or above is 
required before the training hour(s) received may be applied 
toward partial satisfaction of the in-service training requirement. 

 
i. Tested video training limit 

 

Only twenty (20) hours of video training may be applied 
toward satisfaction of the annual in-service training 
requirement. 

 
ii. Records requirement 

 

All post-viewing examinations administered, and their 
results, shall be maintained by the agency for five years 
from the date the examination was administered. These 
records shall be made available for inspection upon request. 

 
 
 
 

2. Tested online e-Learning instructional training 
 

Training received via online e-Learning instructional training programs 
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utilizing computer-generated or agency-administered testing may be 
applied toward partial satisfaction of the annual in-service training 
requirement if: 

 
• The training program is conducted on a designated computer in a 

recognized learning environment such as, but not limited to, an 
agency designated training classroom, a community college or 
university, or other recognized training classroom site or any 
other computer and venue as approved by the agency head; 

 
• The training program is approved by the agency head or their 

designee, and the instructional topic is related directly to law 
enforcement; 

 
• An examination covering the instructional material is 

administered to the student by the agency head and/or their 
designee, or administered via the computer as part of the online 
e-Learning class or course, and the student has no access to the 
examination or the computer system to affect, alter, or destroy 
the examination questions or examination results; 

 
• The student achieves a minimum passing score of 70% or above 

on an examination, scored by the agency head, their designee, or 
the computer as part of the online e-Learning class. A passing 
score of 70% or above is required before the training hour(s) 
received may be applied toward partial satisfaction of the in- 
service training requirement. 

 
i. Tested online e-Learning instructional training limit 

 

Only twenty (20) hours of training via tested online e- 
Learning instructional training hours may be applied 
toward partial satisfaction of the annual in-service training 
requirement. 

 
ii. Records requirement 

 

If an examination at the completion of the online e-Learning 
training is administered by the agency head or designee, the 
examinations administered, and their results, shall be 
maintained by the agency for five years from the date the 
examination was administered. If the testing occurs as part 
of the online e-Learning class or course, the agency shall 
only be required to maintain a record that the officer 
successfully completed the class or course. These records 
shall be made available for inspection upon request. 

 
i. Live, interactive multimedia training 

 



14  

Time spent viewing live law enforcement-related training delivered by 
streaming or video file format, satellite transmission, desktop video- 
conferencing such as Zoom or other interactive live media where an instructor, 
facilitator or training coordinator is present at the delivery site to 

answer questions during the training program, may be applied toward 
satisfaction of the annual in-service training requirement if: 

 
• The agency head, or their designee, approves such training 

in advance and the training is directly related to law 
enforcement; 

 
• Viewing of the live, interactive training must occur in a 

recognized learning environment such as, but not limited to, 
an agency’s designated training classroom, a community 
college or university, or other recognized training classroom 
site or any other venue as approved by the agency head. 

 
j. Emergency Medical Training 

 

Medical training and/or emergency first aid related training and/or 
recertification training that an officer receives may be used to satisfy no more 
than 16 hours of his or her annual in-service training obligation. 

 
V. REPORTING PROCEDURES 

 

A. CONDUCTING TRAINING 
 

Any agency which conducts any specialized course, class, or other departmental 
in-service training may make its training program available to other agencies or 
departments. 

 
B. RECORD KEEPING AND DOCUMENTATION 

 

1. Attendance Records 
 

The course director or coordinator shall keep a record of all persons who attend 
the training program, but shall not be responsible for submitting evidence of  
attendance of personnel from other agencies, the agency head of any agency 
that conducts in-service training programs shall maintain a record of the 
following, which shall be provided, upon request, to the Director of the Kansas 
Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training: 

 
• Titles of the class or course; and, 

 
• Outlines of the course taught; and 
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• Dates and times of presentations; and 
 

• Number of instructional hours presented; and 
 

• Names of instructors; and 
 

• Names of students; and 
 

• Location of the course or class. 
 

2. Evidence of Training Received 
 

Individual agencies shall be responsible for submitting reports that their 
officers have successfully completed the annual in-service training or 
continuing education annual requirement. Reports of training received shall be 
forwarded to the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and 
Training for certification by the Director; in fact, Kansas Law, at K.S.A. 74- 
5607a(b), expressly requires the submission of such records to KS-CPOST. 

 
a. Content of records 

 

Individual training records shall be submitted on forms, including computer 
generated forms, approved or supplied by the Kansas Commission on Peace 
Officers’ Standards and Training, and shall contain at least the following 
information: 

 
• Officer’s full name; and, 

 
• Officer’s Central Registry-approved identifier; and, 

 
• Course subject title and brief description of course class 

content; and, 
 

• Agency ORI (Originating Agency Identifier) number; and, 
 

• Date(s) the course was held; and, 
 

• Number of hours to be credited; and, 
 

• Location held; and 
 

• Name of instructor. 
 
 
 

Such training records shall be mailed to: 
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Central Registry 
Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training 
1999 N Amidon Ste 350 
Wichita KS 67203-2180 

 
Forms necessary for the reporting of in- service training are available for 
download at www.kscpost.org 

 

b. Deadline for submission 
 

Training reports evidencing receipt of training to be applied toward the 
annual in-service training requirement shall be submitted to KS-CPOST no 
later than thirty (30) days after the training concludes. 

 
 
 

VI. HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TRAINING 
 

Effective in May 1996, the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Commission officially 
changed its Hazardous Materials continuing education (in-service) training 
requirements. THE COMMISSION NO LONGER MANDATES SUCH AN 
INSERVICE TRAINING REQUIREMENT. 

 
Applicable federal law in this area requires that, after receiving awareness level 
training, officers who may encounter hazardous materials events must receive annual 
refresher training or demonstrate continuing competency; applicable law mandates no 
specific hour requirement. 

 
Accordingly, the Commission now considers in-service hazardous materials training 
as a matter to be determined at the local level. The Commission reminds agencies; 
however, that federal law requires some annual refresher training, or annual 
demonstration of competency. 

 
Any person who provides Hazardous Materials training shall have successfully 
completed a training course, such as courses offered by the U.S. Fire Academy, for 
teaching such subject matter, or shall posses the training/academic credentials and 
instructional experience necessary to demonstrate competent knowledge of the 
subject matter and instructional skills. 

 
THE KANSAS COMMISSION ON PEACE OFFICERS’ STANDARDS AND 

TRAINING RESERVES THE RIGHT TO DECIDE THOSE MATTERS 
PERTAINING TO LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING NOT COVERED HEREIN. 


